The county fair

I kind of wish I grew up in a small town in the middle of the midwest. The kind of town that had county fairs.I think if I went to a county fair I could attempt to re-enact that whole scene with Zoltar from Big. Remember Big, that Tom Hanks movie where a 13 year old all of a sudden wakes up to be 30? It has totally be re-made a gazillion different times including 13 going on 30 more recently by Jennifer Garner. Sometimes I wish I could wake up and just be 30. But at the same time I would miss so much of what growing up is about I would be completely out of place. I am aware of that, it is just really nice to remove yourself from any situation when it isn’t 100 % perfect. I don’t know why I have all of a sudden concluded that I have lived a boring deprived life because I never attended a fair. I have lived a very amazing life full of opportunity, love and support. But, there was no carousel. No ferris wheel. No cotton candy ( 6 Flags/ Elitch gardens DOESN’T count.) I long to sing “we go to together like ram lama lama ba dinga dee boo sha boo” just like the whole cast of Grease did at…. that is right you guess it.. at the FAIR!

I grew up in Denver. No fairs were there. There were no fairs everywhere. Maybe I’ll rhyme for the rest of the post. Because I am the most but I don’t like toast. So (st?). I am giving up rhyming but am instead providing one of my favorite quotes of ALL time.

The Man in the Glass

When you get what you want in your struggle for self,
And the world makes you king for a day,
Just go to a mirror and look at yourself
And see what the man has to say.

For it isn’t your father or mother or wife
Whom judgment on you must pass,
The fellow whose verdict counts most in your life
Is the one staring back from the glass.

Some people might think you’re a straight-shootin’ chum
And call you a wonderful guy,
But the man in the glass says you’re only a bum
If you can’t look him straight in the eye.

He’s the fellow to please, never mind all the rest,
For he’s with you clear to the end,
And you’ve passed your most dangerous test
If the guy in the glass is your friend.

You may fool the whole world down the pathways of years,
And get pats on the back as you pass,
But your final reward will be heartache and tears,
If you’ve cheated the man in the glass.
(-anonymous)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment