Daily Archives: November 30, 2009

Vinyls

I’ve mentioned this in passing but it is time that it gets a bit of individual attention.

I own a gorgeous record player. Below is the exact player that I own a Jensen 3 speed.

Artists/ Records that I own:

(I have to say before I go into detail, I am not listing all of my records because going through all of them is difficult and time consuming.)

The Carpenters, The Big Chill, The Eagles, James Taylor, The Beatles, Disney classics, Fleetwood Mac, Saturday Night Fever, Top Gun, John Denver, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street band, Cat Stevens, Carly Simon, Stevie Wonder, Lionel Richie, Billy Joel, Elton John…

People don’t understand why I am so in love with my records. It’s because music sounds so dramatically better on it. If people only realized that I think everyone would have one. I have observed also that there is something truly unique about listening to a record from start to finish and listening to the flow of songs. Listening to one song next to the other in the sequence it was meant to be listened to is really amazing. I can’t describe it, it has to be experienced. Also, you can really hear the different instruments and the beats and rhythms that make up songs. My Beatles record, for example, flows from one song to the next amazingly. There are all of these hidden tracks and instrumental rifts to songs so you can’t really pick out when one song ends and another starts. It’s also a great conversation starter and reason for people to come over. People are always like “My parents have so many records I’ll bring them for you.” I’ve heard so many people tell me this by now that I no longer think they’re going to follow through because they haven’t so far.

Also have you ever heard that scratchy sound that records make pre-song? It is so indescribable! I love that sound. I love picking up the needle and placing it on the record. I love turning the record after a measly 6 songs.

The other day I found this website that featured the 10 Best Songs for Friends. (RANDOM right?)

http://top40.about.com/od/top10lists/tp/friendshipsongs.htm

One of the artists,  Corinne Bailey Rae sings about putting your records on. She sings:

Girl, put your records on, tell me your favorite song
You go ahead, let your hair down
Sapphire and faded jeans, I hope you get your dreams,
Just go ahead, let your hair down.
You’re gonna find yourself somewhere, somehow.

Maybe that is what I need to do, let my hair down and put some records on.

Leave a comment

Filed under College